Tuesday, August 11, 2009

[news] Volcano Choir - Unmap

New Justin Vernon project

Bon Iver's Justin Vernon has teamed up with fellow Wisconsinites Jon Mueller, Chris Rosenau, Jim Schoenecker, and Daniel Spack (all from Collections of Colonies of Bees). The collaboration of these six musicians actually predates the critically acclaimed rise of Bon Iver, with original songwriting dating back to the summer of 2005, right around the time the Bees first toured with Vernon's previous band DeYarmond Edison. The band somewhat recently began recording music together back in November 2008, which will now be released as their debut full-length album Unmap under the moniker Volcano Choir. The LP is slated to drop via Jagjaguwar on September 22, 2009. The band has also shared a sampler track called "Island, IS." Check it out the Mp3 below, along with the album track listing.

  1. Husks And Shells
  2. Seeplymouth
  3. Island, IS
  4. Dote
  5. And Gather
  6. Mbira In The Morass
  7. Cool Knowledge
  8. Still
  9. Youlogy