Wednesday, March 28, 2012

[playlist] Hump Day Power Play (3-28-2012)

White Rabbits Edition

Lately, I've found myself listening to White Rabbits' newest LP Milk Famous on repeat, and it got me thinking I should spotlight them in this week's Hump Day Power Play, highlighting their very solid 3-album catalog. If you haven't given Milk Famous a listen, the White Rabbits have taken an even further departure from their debut Fort Nightly. And while some may quickly right off the new sound as Spoon-esque, I tend to disagree. Yes, I get that their second album It's Frightening was produced by Spoon's very own Britt Daniel, and that their newest album was produced by long-time Spoon producer Mike McCarthy, I just don't hear the "stark similarities" that have been negatively written about in reviews. While they've taken the more minimalist route in their sound lately, they've also crafted it in a very familiar White Rabbits way. The results are slow to grow on you, but definitely worth the investment of multiple listens. Try it yourself, and check out this week's playlist below.

Hear it by simply clicking here. Playlist is below.

:: Hump Day Power Play (3-28-2012) ::
01 :: "Danny Come Inside" - White Rabbits
02 :: "Percussion Gun" - White Rabbits
03 :: "The Plot" - White Rabbits
04 :: "The Lady Vanishes" - White Rabbits
05 :: "Temporary" - White Rabbits
06 :: "Beehive State" - White Rabbits
07 :: "Kid On My Shoulders" - White Rabbits
08 :: "Rudie Fails" - White Rabbits
09 :: "Heavy Metal" - White Rabbits
10 :: "Right Where They Left" - White Rabbits
11 :: "Navy Wives" - White Rabbits
12 :: "Midnight And I" - White Rabbits
13 :: "While We Go Dancing" - White Rabbits
14 :: "It's Frightening" - White Rabbits
15 :: "They Done Wrong / We Done Wrong" - White Rabbits

Get Spotify (if you don't already have it).