Monday, April 11, 2011

[new music] Resume Compilation for Japanese Earthquake Victims

A Compilation Album to Support the Victims
of the Japan Earthquake

In the wake of the horrendous earthquake and resulting tsunami that recently struck eastern Japan, 7 e.p. (a label that mainly licenses music from overseas) has arranged a compilation to help benefit the victims. With the hope of creating an iTunes-based benefit album, they called out to the overseas artists that they have had the pleasure of working with. The response was immediate and overwhelming.

The result: a 3-volume benefit compilation album titled Resume. It includes 45 tracks, most of them previously unreleased, from 43 artists hailing from America, Canada, Australia, the U.K., the Netherlands and even Japan.

The title, Resume, which implies recovering and persevering, was the idea of Sweet Dreams publisher Norio Fukuda. The cover artwork was provided by renowned Olympia, WA artist Nikki McClure. Additionally, Masaki Tada, who has worked on albums by moools and many other 7 e.p. albums, offered his mastering expertise. Of note, contributions from Wolf Parade (who toured with moools last year), Sunset Rubdown, and Johnny & The Moon have all contributed songs to Resume (list posted below). Looks like a good album, and it's definitely a good cause. Check it out - albums are available today for $7 each.
  • Wolf Parade – Agents Of Love (iTunes only single)
  • Wolf Parade – Semi-Precious Stone (iTunes only single)
  • Sunset Rubdown – Coming To At Dawn (Digitally unreleased)
  • Sunset Rubdown – Insane Love Is Awakening (Digitally unreleased)
  • Johnny & The Moon – From the Rooftops of Houses (Unreleased)