Wednesday, April 20, 2011

[new music] Bon Iver - Bon Iver, Bon Iver

New self-titled LP from Bon Iver

There's an old adage that states how bands have roughly 18 years to write their debut and only 1-2 years for the follow-up. It's sad but very true, and as fans we tend to grow impatient with even our favorite acts. Personally, I greatly appreciate (only in hindsight) the bands that take their time to craft another masterpiece, but that doesn't mean I enjoy the years of anticipation leading up to its release.

In 2007, Justin Vernon surprised us all with his instant classic For Emma, Forever Ago. Released under the moniker Bon Iver, the album was picked up by record label Jagjaguwar and increasingly gained an indie-cult following over the next year. When sharing this album with friends, the exchange of music was usually accompanied with an anecdotal tale: "Vernon, heartbroken from both a lost love and a dissolved band, retreated to the snowy recesses of backcountry Wisconsin and catharticly recorded his emotions." The lore behind the album only helped listeners connect with the beautifully crafted songs. By 2009, The LP had gained the attention of everyone, and to our delight, the Blood Bank EP was released to give us a little more Bon Iver.

Now we've been waiting what seems like ages for the sophomore LP. We're hungry for Bon Iver, and Volcano Choir turned out to be an entirely different beast. Finally, news of this follow-up album has been released over at Jagjaguwar. According to their label, the self-titled album, whose cover art is pictured above, will drop June 21. In the press release, it states that the 10-song album took Vernon 3 years to craft. Bon Iver, Bon Iver was recorded and mixed at Vernon's April Base Studios in Fall Creek, WI. The studio, which was converted from a former veterinarian's clinic, is "only three miles from the house [he] grew up in, and just ten minutes from the bar where [his] parents met."

The album art was created by artist Gregory Euclide. It's actually a relief art and can be seen in all its three dimensions here.

A track listing of Bon Iver's Bon Iver, Bon Iver is posted below (that's a bit redundant).

Track listing: Bon Iver, Bon Iver
01 - Perth
02 - Minnesota, WI
03 - Holocene
04 - Towers
05 - Michicant
06 - Hinnom, TX
07 - Wash.
08 - Calgary
09 - Lisbon, OH
10 - Beth/Rest