Wednesday, February 3, 2010

[new music] The Besnard Lakes ...Are the Roaring Night

New LP from The Besnard Lakes

The Besnard Lakes are the creators of one of my favorite albums of 2007, ...Are The Dark Horse. I've been patiently waiting for a follow-up, but seem to have missed the press-release of this fantastic bit of news. On March 9, 2010, the band will be releasing their second full-length album ...Are the Roaring Night via Jagjaguwar. The first single off the album, "Albatross" drops next Tuesday (Febrary 9). Jagjaguwar plans on releasing the song on 12" b/w "Four Long Lines", which doesn't appear on the LP. To download the track, visit here, or just listen to it at the end of this post. According to their label:

The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night was recorded at Lasek's Breakglass Studios with a vintage 1968 Neve germanium mixing console used to record portions of Led Zeppelin's Physical Graffiti. The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night is a dark bliss-out that folds the eerie guitar epics of the band's breakthrough, The Besnard Lakes Are the Dark Horse, into a wall of affected drones and atmospherics. The toughened immediacy and grit that gives the form a much-needed shove over the cliffs makes for a haunting, provocative swan dive into the crushing tide.

The band seems to have been very busy lately, reportedly contributing to a song which will appear on Adam Franklin's (Swervedriver, Toshack Highway) solo album (to be released in 2010), as well as scoring the music for a 2010 Sundance Film directed by Mark Ruffalo!

The Besnard Lakes' Online Store is now up and running. Check it out. More info on the record is below:

The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night
01. Like The Ocean, Like The Innocent; Pt. 1: The Ocean
02. Like The Ocean, Like The Innocent; Pt. 2: The Innocent
03. Chicago Train
04. Albatross
05. Glass Printer
06. Land of Living Skies; Pt. 1: The Land
07. Land of Living Skies; Pt. 2: The Living Skies
08. And This is What We Call Progress
09. Light Up The Night
10. The Lonely Moan

Albatross 12''
Side A: ''Albatross''
Side B: ''Four Long Lines''

MP3: The Besnard Lakes - "Albatross"